Top Menu

Our Trustees and Council

About Us

About us

Our vision

Our history

What we do

Our Patron, President
and Vice Presidents

Our Trustees and Council

Our Committees


Our Council members bring a wide range of skills and knowledge together to help us work for the protection and enhancement of the New Forest.
Could you become a Council member and a part of our campaigning team?

Contact John Ward, our chairman,
to find out more:

Our Trustees and Council

At the heart of the Association are our Board of Trustees and our Council, supported by Committees. Officers, Trustees and members of Council are elected by the membership. Co-option may take place between AGMs. Committees are chaired by trustees or members of Council, but committee members may be drawn from the wider membership or be volunteers co-opted for the special expertise or skills they bring.

The Board of Trustees comprises the Officers and up to six additional trustees


John Ward (Chair)

Former Director of Strategy and Planning at the New Forest National Park Authority; Former member New Forest Committee; Former Director New Forest Villages Housing Association.

Gale Pettifer (Vice Chair)

Practising commoner, historian and lecturer; Member of the Chartered Institute of Marketing; Patron of the Chalke Valley History Festival.

Sarah Nield (Hon. Secretary)

Chair in Property Law Southampton University; Work on the legal framework of the New Forest,advising the Verderers on various matters; Author of a book entitled Forest Law and The Verderers of the New Forest.

Brandy Gill (Hon. Treasurer)

J.P. (West Hampshire bench); Member of the Police Advisory Group for the New Forest.


Bernie Austin (Chair Planning and Transport Committee)

Retired chartered surveyor and architectural consultant; Former Chairman Lyndhurst Parish Council; Founder of Lyndhurst Junior Football Club.

Vacant (Chair Membership and Marketing Committee)

Clive Chatters (Chair Habitat and Landscape Committee)

Company Secretary Hampshire and Isle of Wight Wildlife Trust; Former Chairman National Park Authority; Naturalist, Conservationist and Author.

Brian Tarnoff

Mobile cinema projectionist; Writer

William Ziegler

Former chairman New Forest Association; Chairman New Forest Trust.


Council Comprises the Board of Trustees and up to fifteen additional members Council brings together on a regular basis individual members of the Association with a wide breadth of knowledge of the New Forest, engagement with other New Forest organisations or professional skills valuable to the work of the Association, and who are volunteers, serving on Committees or otherwise actively engaged in roles supporting the Association. They represent many viewpoints about the New Forest but are united in their commitment to the Association.

Council meetings are a forum in which to discuss with and advise the Board of Trustees on any New Forest issues pertinent to the Objects of the Association that its members wish to raise.

Clive Chatters

Hampshire and Isle of Wight Wildlife Trust officer; Former Chairman National Park Authority; Naturalist and author.

Jonathan Cox

Freelance ecologist and nature conservation adviser; Author of several English Nature and other nature conservation publications.

Tara Dempsey

Amateur naturalist with a particular interest in the New Forest.

Roly Errington

Member New Forest Consultative Panel; Trustee New Forest Ninth Centenary Trust; Chairman National Park Authority Western Escarpment Conservation Area Steering Group; Member New Forest National Trust Advisory Board; Vice Chairman Ellingham, Harbridge and Ibsley Parish Council; Member Hampshire County Council liaison committees for Cemex and Tarmac mineral operations in the Avon Valley.

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior fellow at the London School of Economics and Political Science; Former Chairman of the New Forest Commoners Defence Assocition.

Dr Keith Howe

Exeter University Agricultural economist; Senior Research Fellow Exeter University; Honorary Research Fellow Royal Veterinary College, London University; Trustee Exmoor Society.

David Humbert

Member New Forest Show Committee.

Ann Sevier

Commoner; District Councillor for Fordingbridge.

Richard Reeves

Local historian; Member New Forest Consultative Panel; Committee member, New Forest History and Archaeology Group.

Neil Sanderson

Freelance ecologist and leading lichenologist.

Jenni Tubbs

Member Habitats and Landscape Committee; Friends of the New Forest representative on Forestry Commission Open Forest Advisory Committee; New Forest Friends of the Earth representative; Member New Forest Consultative Panel; Former officer Nature Conservancy Council.

Russell Wynn

Director Wild New Forest; Former member New Forest National Park Authority; former editor of the Hampshire Bird Report and chair of the Seabird Group of UK and Ireland.